This article is intended to be an online resource for Connecticut landlords. We summarize key Connecticut Landlord-Tenant laws that are most applicable to residential rental units.
This article is not qualified legal advice. Individuals seeking guidance need to work with a legal advisor who is qualified in the jurisdiction. Connecticut Landlord Tenant Laws and statutes may vary from county to county or city to city, this article provides state level laws and statutes.
Also, laws and statutes are subject to change and may cause sections of this article to be outdated. We provide links to assist landlords and tenants to the state statute page for further research.
Click here if you are seeking renters insurance in Connecticut
Quick Facts for Real Estate Investors Considering Connecticut
Connecticut landlord-tenant laws are considered Landlord-friendly.
There are 3.6 million residents in Connecticut. Major metropolitan markets in Connecticut are:
- Hartford: Estimated population of 1,204,877, which 34% of residents are renter occupied. Average rent is $1,061.
- Bridgeport: Estimated population of 943,332, which 33% of residents are renter occupied. Average rent is $1,438.
- New Haven: Estimated population of 762,695, which 38% of residents are renter occupied. Average rent is $1,107.
- Norwich: Estimated population of 265,206, which 33% of residents are renter occupied. Average rent is $1,048.
Jump to Different Connecticut Landlord Tenant Laws
- Security Deposit Laws
- Rental Agreement Laws
- Late Fees and Limits
- Lease Terminations / Notice To Quit
- Laws on Repairs
- Landlord Responsibilities
- Tenant Responsibilities
- Eviction Laws
- Laws on Retaliation
- Laws on Domestic Violence, Etc.
- Laws for Locks
- Pet Laws & Pet Policies
- Landlord Rental License
- Notice of Entry Laws
- Sublease and Assignment
- Tenant Abandoned Property
- Rental Agreement Disclosures
- Helpful Resources
- Court Info & Links
SECURITY DEPOSIT LAWS IN CONNECTICUT
Does Connecticut require security deposits?
Connecticut does not require security deposits.
Is a security deposit receipt required in Connecticut?
Connecticut does require landlords to provide a receipt of security deposit for cash payments. Receipts must contain the amount, date and general purpose of the payment. Banking Commissioner may request information on the bank and account numbers for each deposit. Landlords have 7 days to provide documentation. (Conn. Gen. Stat. Ann. §§ 47a-3a(c)) (Conn. Gen. Stat. Ann. §§ 47a-21(h))
How much security deposit can a landlord charge in Connecticut?
In Connecticut, a landlords maximum deposit is dictated by the tenants age. For tenants 62 or younger, landlords can charge 2 months rent max. For tenants older than 62, the tenant can request a refund for any deposit amount exceeding one month’s rent. (Conn. Gen. Stat. Ann. §§ 47a-21(b)(1) & (2))
Storage Requirements for Security Deposits in Connecticut:
No Statute. Landlords can decide where to hold the security deposit.
Can security deposits be commingled with other assets in Connecticut?
Landlords are not allowed to commingle. Security deposits must be kept in a separate escrow account.
Do landlords have to pay interest on security deposits in Connecticut?
Landlords are required to pay interest to the tenants. Rate is set annually by the Banking Commissioner. However, tenants forfeit their right to earn interest in months they pay late more than 10 days late, unless there is a late fee charged.
Landlords are not allowed to increase rent due to an increase of interest rate. (Conn. Gen. Stat. Ann. §§ 47a-21(i))
When must a landlord return the deposit by in Connecticut?
In Connecticut, landlords have 30 days to return the security deposit. Or, within 15 days of the tenant providing their forwarding address. Landlords must return the deposit by whichever date is later. (Conn. Gen. Stat. Ann. §§ 47a-21(d)(2))
When can a landlord in Connecticut withhold security deposit?
At the end of a lease, the landlord is required to return the tenant’s security deposit. However, landlords may withhold all or portions of a tenant’s security deposit if (Conn. Gen. Stat. Ann. §§ 47a-21(13) & (d)):
- Unpaid rent and/or fees
- Unpaid utility expenses
- Damage in excess of normal wear and tear
No Statute. Landlords can charge any non-refundable fees they deem fit.
Pet Deposits and Additional Fees:
Connecticut has no pet deposit.statutes.
Require written description / itemized list of damages and charges?
Landlords are required to provide written and itemized list of damages sent via mail to the tenant’s forwarding address. (Conn. Gen. Stat. Ann. §§ 47a-21(d)(2))
What happens to Connecticut landlords that fail to comply returning the security deposit?
Landlords that failure to provide a written itemized list returned by the deadline could be liable for twice the security deposit amount. If the landlord violates the return of interest owed, the liability is twice the interest. (Conn. Gen. Stat. Ann. §§ 47a-21(d)(2) & (j) & (k))
RENTAL AGREEMENT LAWS IN CONNECTICUT
Rental agreements required in Connecticut:
Rental agreements are required for leases 12 months or longer. We always recommend having a legal lease agreement to prevent future complications.
If you need a lease, Burbz offers an online Connecticut rental lease agreement.
What are the required lease provisions in Connecticut?
Connecticut requires certain provisions to be included in the lease agreement. Besides both the landlord and tenant names, the landlord should also list:
- Rent Amount and Due Date
- Security deposit amount and terms
- Process for requesting maintenance and repairs
- Length of the lease agreement
- Subleasing policy
- Late Fees and Penalties
- Landlord’s responsibilities for maintenance and utilities
- Tenant’s responsibilities for maintenance and utilities
- Pet policies
- Cleaning Fees
- Other fees
Landlords cannot include:
- Tenants waiving any of their rights under Connecticut’s Landlord-Tenant statutes 21, 23, 26, 35, 41, 43 or 46.
- Tenant waiving the landlord’s responsibility for a safe and sanitary dwelling
- Tenant waiving the landlord’s liability under Connecticut law
- Holding tenant responsible for any damage the landlord is liable for
- Tenant waiving their right to earn interest on their security deposit
- Tenant consents to the distraint of property
- Holding tenant responsible for the landlord’s attorney’s fees greater than 15% from any judgment involving damages being awarded by money
- Tenants waiving the statutory grace period and accepting the landlord’s stated grace period for late fees
- Tenants accepting any surchage for heating or utilities, if these are included in the rental agreement
What are the rental agreement notice requirements in Connecticut:
Fixed-End or Year-to-Year: At least a 3 day notice is required. (Conn. Gen. Stat. Ann. §§ 47a-23)
Month-to-Month: At least a 3 day notice is required. (Conn. Gen. Stat. Ann. §§ 47a-23)
Week-to-Week: At least a 3 day notice is required. (Conn. Gen. Stat. Ann. §§ 47a-23)
Notice to Quit must contain the following:
“I (or we) hereby give you notice that you are to quit possession or occupancy of the (land, building, apartment or dwelling unit, or of any trailer or any land upon which a trailer is used or stands, as the case may be), now occupied by you at (here insert the address, including apartment number or other designation, as applicable), on or before the (here insert the date) for the following reason (here insert the reason or reasons for the notice to quit possession or occupancy using the statutory language or words of similar import, also the date and place of signing notice). A.B.”
What happens when the tenant remains without consent after the rental agreement expires or terminates?
Connecticut requires the landlord to send a 3 day notice to leave the property, providing a notice to quit.
Does the lease automatically renew in Connecticut?
Rent Increase Notice:
Rent Grace Period for Residential:
Tenants on fixed-term leases have a 9 day grace period to pay rent. Tenants on a month-to-month lease, or shorter, have a 4 day grace period to pay rent. (Conn. Gen. Stat. Ann. §§ 47a-15a)
Rent Grace Period for Manufactured Homes:
No Statute specifically for manufactured homes. Follow the residential grace period.
No Statute. Landlords may accept prepaid rent.
LATE FEES AND LIMITS IN CONNECTICUT
Late Fees for Residential:
Late Fees for Manufactured Homes:
No Statute specifically for manufactured homes.
Limits to late fees in Connecticut:
CONNECTICUT LEASE TERMINATIONS / NOTICES TO QUIT
In Connecticut, lease agreements between landlords and tenants can be terminated. Read our blog for landlords about handling early lease terminations. Here are the cause and effects:
What is the Pay or Quit for Nonpayment requirement in Connecticut?
Connecticut requires a 3 day notice to pay rent, providing a Pay-Or-Quit Notice. (Conn. Gen. Stat. Ann. §§ 47a-23(d))
How many days must a landlord allow before terminating for a Lease Violation?
Landlords must provide a 15 day notice to cure, allowing the tenant to remedy the issue. (Conn. Gen. Stat. Ann. §§ 47a-15(a))
Connecticut allows immediate lease termination if the tenant is responsible for:
All terminations require a 3 day notice of termination. (Conn. Gen. Stat. Ann. §§ 47a-23)
How many days when terminating for illegal drug-related activities?
CONNECTICUT LAWS ON REPAIRS
Connecticut requires landlords provide a habitable property for tenants to live and enjoy. There are specific provisions defining how tenants can remedy repairs if the landlord fails to do so.
How many days must the tenant give for non-emergency repairs?
Tenants must provide written notice within 15 days of the alleged condition breaching habitability. (Conn. Gen. Stat. Ann. §§ 47a-12)
Can tenant withhold rent for landlords’ failure to provide essential services (i.e. water, heat, etc.)?
Tenants may reduce rent equal to the cost of repairs, but cannot withhold rent. (Conn. Gen. Stat. Ann. §§ 47a-13)
If the landlord fails to take necessary action, then the tenants can legally:
Tenant may remedy the situation with any of the following options (Conn. Gen. Stat. Ann. §§ 47a-13):
- Procure reasonable amount of utilities and deduct the actual amount from rent
- Rent another habitable unit until the repairs are made if the repairs are not made within 48 hours
- Terminate the lease and recover an amount not to exceed 2 months rent
CONNECTICUT LANDLORD RESPONSIBILITIES
What must the landlord provide in good and working order?
Connecticut defines certain responsibilities for landlords, including (Conn. Gen. Stat. Ann. §§ 47a-7(a)):
- Must comply with all applicable building codes affecting health and safety
- Must supply running water and reasonable amounts of hot water, at all times.
- Must supply functioning heating facilities
- Common areas are kept reasonably clean and free from accumulations of debris and filth
Do landlords have to provide appliances and services?
CONNECTICUT TENANT LAWS AND RESPONSIBILITIES
Tenant must maintain a fit and habitable premise and is prohibited from intentionally or negligently damaging or removing any part of the premise. Tenants must conduct themselves and others in a manner not to disturb the neighbor’s peaceful enjoyment of their premises.
CONNECTICUT EVICTION LAWS
Connecticut requires a landlord to file a 15 Day Notice to Vacate action to evict a tenant.
Landlords may evict tenants for the following:
- Unpaid rent
- Breach of lease agreement
- Tenants actions affecting the health and safety of other tenants on premises
- Tenants actions causing physical damage to the premises
Can landlords do a ‘self help’ eviction?
In Connecticut, it is illegal for landlords to attempt to evict a tenant not through a court order. Tenants may be able to immediately terminate the lease and be rewarded two months rent or double damages. (Conn. Gen. Stat. Ann. §§ 47a-13)
Are landlords allowed to lock out tenants by changing locks?
Landlords cannot change locks.
Are landlords allowed to turn off utilities?
Landlords cannot turn off utilities. (Conn. Gen. Stat. Ann. §§ 47a-13)
Tenants may not be evicted for non-payment of rent if:
No Statute stating a curable way for tenants to prevent an eviction process after the failing to remedy their violation in the 15-day Notice to Vacant period.
Do landlords have to make a reasonable attempt to mitigate damages when re-renting the rental unit?
Yes. Landlords must make reasonable efforts to find a replacement tenant at fair market value. (Conn. Gen. Stat. Ann. §§ 47a-11a)
CONNECTICUT LAWS ON RETALIATION
Connecticut laws state a landlord cannot terminate a lease, refuse a lease renewal or raise rents when:
- Tenant submitted, or threatened to, a complaint to government agency for building or health code violation
- Tenant has sent written complaints to the landlords about repairs
- Tenant has started or joined a tenant’s organization
Connecticut defines a period of time of six months that would result in a retaliatory action. (Conn. Gen. Stat. Ann. §§ 47a-20)
LAWS ON DOMESTIC VIOLENCE, SEXUAL MISCONDUCT, AND SEXUAL ASSAULT
Connecticut has no statutes to protect a victim of domestic violence, sexual assault, rape or stalking. Burbz encourages landlords to work with these victims in good faith and help prevent or reduce the situation. This includes changing locks or letting the victim out of their lease agreement to find a safer home.
A landlord is allowed to verify claim of Domestic Violence when an early termination is requested. (Conn. Gen. Stat. Ann. §§ 47a-11e)
Can a tenant terminate the least if they are a victim of domestic violence:
Tenants who reasonably believe it is necessary vacate the premises for fear of imminent harm may terminate the lease with a 1 month notice.
Who is responsible for Recovery of Losses:
Must Landlords Change Locks:
CONNECTICUT LAWS FOR LOCKS AND LANDLORDS
Are landlords requested to change locks before new tenants:
No Statute. Before new tenants moves in, landlords are not required to change the locks. It is always recommended to do so.
Are landlords required to install any specific security device:
Do landlords have to change locks for domestic violence victims:
CONNECTICUT PET LAWS & PET POLICIES
Connecticut Landlord-Tenant Laws does not have any specific pet laws. Landlords are legally allowed to create their own pet policies and requirements. Including tolerance for breeds, size, types, and more. Read our guide to pet policies.
Any limitations on pets that landlords can impose?
What are the max pet deposits in Connecticut:
No Statute for max deposits. Landlords can also charge non-refundable fees. Deposits follow the same provisions as security deposits regarding interest earned.
DO LANDLORDS IN CONNECTICUT NEED A RENTAL LICENSE?
According to Connecticut Landlord-Tenant Laws, landlords do not need a rental license in Connecticut.
Landlords and owner of a residential rental property do not need to register the property. Local cities may have different requirements, we recommend you research the local city specific laws.
NOTICE OF ENTRY LAWS IN CONNECTICUT
Do landlords in Connecticut have to provide notice of entry?
Connecticut does require landlords to provide a reasonable notice. It is recommended that landlords provide 24 hours’ notice for normal circumstances entry. This includes:
- Non-emergency maintenance and repairs
- Improvements to property
- Showing prospective tenants, contractors, mortgagees or buyers.
When can a landlord enter without notice:
Due to an emergency.
Can landlords enter for non-emergency maintenance and repairs?
Can landlords enter for showings?
Can landlords enter for emergencies without notice?
Can landlords enter during Tenant’s extended absence?
Can landlords enter for pesticide use?
CONNECTICUT SUBLEASE AND ASSIGNMENT PROVISIONS
Is subleasing permitted?
Yes, there is no statute preventing subleasing.
Do you need the landlord consent?
If the lease includes a clause stating the landlord allows or requires consent.
Can the LL / lease prohibit subletting?
Yes, there is no statute. Landlords should include language in their rental agreement to prohibit without approval.
TENANT ABANDONED PROPERTY IN CONNECTICUT
Connecticut Landlord-Tenant Laws does specific procedures that landlords must follow when tenants leave belongings. This may be from evictions or moving out at the expiration of lease. Landlords are required to send a written notice to the tenant’s last known address if they believe the property has been abandoned. Rental unit may be considered abandoned if rent has not been paid in 2 months or tenant states they do not intend to occupy the premises after a specified date. (Conn. Gen. Stat. Ann. §§ 47a-11b)
How long must landlords hold Tenant’s personal property?
Landlords are required to hold the personal property for 30 days after the notice was sent. Landlords must include the mailing address and telephone they can be contacted at. (Conn. Gen. Stat. Ann. §§ 47a-11b (b))
How long notice must landlords give if law enforcement has legally locked them out?
Can the landlords sell property to pay for outstanding debts?
No Statute. However, landlords can dispose of the property as they deem appropriate after the 30 day period. (Conn. Gen. Stat. Ann. §§ 47a-11b (d))
What happens to excess proceeds?
How long must landlords keep records of the sale for?
Landlord must store the tenant’s abandoned property where:
Are the landlords liable for damage?
REQUIRED RENTAL AGREEMENT DISCLOSURES FOR CONNECTICUT LEASES
Connecticut Landlord-Tenant Laws requires the following be included with all Rental Agreement Disclosures:
Lead Paint Disclosure: Yes. Federal law requires every landlord to disclose known information on lead-based paint and hazards. Landlords must provide this EPA-approved pamphlet.
Fire Sprinkler: Must disclose if the property has a fire sprinkler system and the last date it was inspection and/or maintenance. (Conn. Gen. Stat. Ann. §§ 47a-3f)
Condominium: Must disclose prior to executing the lease if the property is part of a common interest community. (Conn. Gen. Stat. Ann. §§ 47a-3e)
CONNECTICUT RELATED COURT INFO & LINKS
Connecticut Small Claims Court Limits:
$5,000 is the limit for small claims court.
Connecticut Eviction Cases Allowed in Small Claims:
Join Our Community of Landlords
Burbz is modern property management for landlords. Whether you prefer to self-manage or hire a property manager, Burbz platform provides free tools for landlords to succeed. Landlords can utilize our free property management software. Or, hire a property manager through the Burbz community and have shared access to all of your rental property data.
The friendliest property management solution for landlords.