fbpx

Wyoming Landlord-Tenant Laws

Wyoming Landlord Tenant LawsThis article is intended to be an online resource for Wyoming landlords.  We summarize key Wyoming Landlord-Tenant laws that are most applicable to residential rental units.

This article is not qualified for legal advice.  Individuals seeking guidance need to work with a legal advisor who is qualified in the jurisdiction.  Wyoming Landlord Tenant Laws and statutes may vary from county to county or city to city, this article provides state-level laws and statutes. 

Also, laws and statutes are subject to change and may cause sections of this article to be outdated.  We provide links to assist landlords and tenants to the state statute page for further research.

Click here if you are seeking renters insurance in Wyoming.

 

Quick Facts for Real Estate Investors Considering Wyoming

Wyoming landlord-tenant laws are considered Landlord-friendly.

There are 578,759  residents in Wyoming.  Major metropolitan markets in Wyoming are:

  1. Casper: Estimated population of 79,858, which 27% of residents are renter occupied.  The average rent is $871.
  2. Cheyenne: Estimated population of 99,500, which 28% of residents are renter occupied.  The average rent is $951.

 

 

SECURITY DEPOSIT LAWS IN WYOMING

 

Does Wyoming require security deposits?

Wyoming does not require security deposits, however, if accepted then there are laws and regulations.

 

Is a security deposit receipt required in Wyoming?

No statute.

 

How much security deposit can a landlord charge in Wyoming?

Wyoming does not state a limit on security deposits.  Generally, landlords will charge one to one-and-a-half month’s rent for a security deposit.

 

 

Storage Requirements for Security Deposits in Wyoming:

There is no requirement of how the landlord must store.  No statute.

 

 

Can security deposits be commingled with other assets in Wyoming?

Landlords can commingle deposits with their personal funds.

 

Do landlords have to pay interest on security deposits in Wyoming?

Landlords are not required to share the interest earned for deposits.  No statute.

  

 

 

When must a landlord return the deposit by in Wyoming?

Landlords must return the security deposits within 30 days after the termination of the lease and delivery of possession by the tenant.  Or, 15 days after receiving the tenant’s new mailing address.  Whichever is later.  Wyo. Stat. § 1-21-1208(a))

If the tenant damaged the property beyond normal wear-and-tear, the landlord can extend by an additional 30 days.  All utility deposits must still be repaid within 10 days of the tenant providing proof that all utility charges have been paid and have a zero balance.   (Wyo. Stat. § 1-21-1208(b))

 

When can a landlord in Wyoming withhold a security deposit?

At the end of a lease, the landlord is required to return the tenant’s security deposit.  However, landlords may withhold all or portions of a tenant’s security deposit for  (Wyo. Stat. § 1-21-1208(a)):

  • Unpaid rent and/or fees
  • Damages beyond normal wear-and-tear
  • Cost to clean the unit back to the original condition

 

 

 

Nonrefundable fees:

No Statute.  Landlords are allowed to charge non-refundable fees in Wyoming, however, there needs to be a clause in the lease agreement stating such.

 

Pet Deposits and Additional Fees:

No statute on pet security deposits.

 

Require a written description / itemized list of damages and charges?

Landlords are required to provide a written and itemized list of damages that are delivered or mailed.   (Wyo. Stat. § 1-21-1208(a))

 

What happens to Wyoming landlords that fail to comply with returning the security deposit?

When landlords fail to comply with Wyoming state law, the tenant may recover the full deposit and court costs.  (Wyo. Stat. § 1-21-1208(c))

 

 

 

 

 

RENTAL AGREEMENT LAWS IN WYOMING

 

Rental agreements required in Wyoming:

Rental agreements are required for leases 12 months or longer.  We always recommend having a legal lease agreement to prevent future complications.

If you need a lease, Burbz offers an online Wyoming rental lease agreement.

 

What are the required lease provisions in Wyoming?

Wyoming requires certain provisions to be included in the lease agreement.  Besides both the landlord and tenant names, the landlord should also list:

  • Description of the rental unit
  • Security deposit amount and terms
  • Rent Amount and Due Date.
  • Pet policies
  • Process for requesting maintenance and repairs
  • Security deposit amount and terms
  • Provision defining automatic renewal
  • Late Fees and Penalties
  • Landlords name, address, and phone number
  • Length of the lease agreement
  • Tenants name, address, and phone number
  • Landlord’s responsibilities for maintenance and utilities
  • Tenant’s responsibilities for maintenance and utilities
  • Occupancy by children or pets
  • Required deposits and the conditions for their refund
  • Inspection rights by the landlord
  • Other fees
  • Address of rental property
  • Subleasing policy
  • Cleaning Fees

 

 

What are the rental agreement notice requirements in Wyoming:

Fixed-End or Year-to-Year: Fixed ended leases simply expire.

Month-to-Month: No statute.  Landlords should include a written policy into the lease agreement.  Generally, 1 month’s written notice at any time is standard.  Read our guide on Month-to-Month rent.

Week-to-Week: No statute.  Landlords should include a written policy into the lease agreement.  Generally, 7 day’s written notice at any time is standard. 

 

Rent Increase Notice:

No statute.  Generally, landlords provide at least 1 periodic rent duration of notice.  For example, if rent is paid monthly then provide at least 1 months notice.

 

 

Rent Grace Period for Residential:

Wyoming does not have any statute defining a grace period.  Therefore, it is assumed landlords can proceed with a late fee the day rent is considered due as well as send the 3 day notice to pay or quit.

 

 

Prepaid Rent:

No Statute.  Any prepaid rent should be stated and defined in the lease agreement.

 

 

 

 

 

 

LATE FEES AND LIMITS IN WYOMING

Late Fees for Residential:

Wyoming landlords can charge a late fee but it must be stated in the lease agreement.  There is no limit to the late fee.

 

 

 

 

WYOMING LEASE TERMINATIONS / NOTICES TO QUIT

 

In Wyoming, lease agreements between landlords and tenants can be terminated.  Read our blog for landlords about handling early lease terminations.  Here are the cause and effects:

 

What is the Pay or Quit for Nonpayment requirement in Wyoming?

Wyoming landlords must provide a 3 day notice informing the tenant to pay all due rent or move-out.  (Wyo. Stat. § 1-21-1002)

 

 

How many days must a landlord allow before terminating for a Lease Violation?

Wyoming landlords must provide a 3 day notice informing the tenant to correct all breaches of the lease agreement or move-out.  (Wyo. Stat. § 1-21-1002)

 

 

Any actions that result in an immediate lease termination?

No statute.

 

 

 

 

WYOMING LAWS ON REPAIRS

 

Wyoming requires landlords to provide a habitable property for tenants to live and enjoy.  There are specific provisions defining how tenants can remedy repairs if the landlord fails to do so. 

How many days must the tenant give for non-emergency repairs? 

Tenants need to provide reasonable notice which varies state by state.  That typically ranges from 7 to 30 days for non-emergency.  (Wyo. Stat. § 1-21-1206)

The renter may a ‘notice to repair or condition’ that is served to the landlord by certified mail.  This must include:

  • Recite the previous notice served
  • State the number of days that have elapsed since the notice was served and that under the circumstances the period of time constitutes a reasonable time
  • State the conditions included in the previous notice which have not been corrected
  • Demand that the uncorrected conditions be corrected
  • State that if the owner fails to commence reasonable corrective action within 3 days, the tenant will seek redress in court

 

Can tenants withhold rent for landlords’ failure to provide essential services (i.e. water, heat, etc.)?

Wyoming allows the tenant the following remedies to handle repairs if the landlord fails (Wyo. Stat. § 1-21-1206):

  • Repair the issues, but cannot deduct costs from rent
  • If a ‘notice to repair or correct condition’ has been serviced, the tenant may also sue in civil court and be ‘awarded costs, damages, and affirmative relief’.  Damages awarded to the renter may include rent improperly retained or collected, termination of the lease agreement, or an order directing the owner to make reasonable repairs.

 

 

WYOMING LANDLORD LAWS AND RESPONSIBILITIES

 

Landlords have an obligation to the tenants, which include (Wyo. Stat. § 1-21-1203(a)(i-iv)):

  • Remain in compliance with all applicable building and housing codes materially affecting health and safety
  • Maintain electrical systems, plumbing, heating, and hot and cold water
  • Maintain other applications and facilities as specifically contracted in the rental agreement
  • Keep all common areas of the property in a clean and safe condition

 

 

 

WYOMING TENANT LAWS AND RESPONSIBILITIES

 

Generally, tenants must dispose of all rubbish and garbage, refrain from unreasonable use of electrical, heating, and plumbing fixtures, meet all obligations lawfully by the code enforcement agency, refrain from willfully destroying or damaging the structure, take in additional occupants, rent or sublease without the owner’s consent.  

Wyo. Stat. § 1-21-1202 ; Wyo. Stat. § 1-21-1204 ; Wyo. Stat. § 1-21-1205

 

 

 

 

WYOMING EVICTION LAWS

 

Can landlords do a ‘self help’ eviction?

No statute.  Burbz encourages landlords to go through the legal channels for evictions.

Are landlords allowed to lockout tenants by changing locks?

No statute.  Burbz encourages landlords to go through the legal channels for evictions.

 

Are landlords allowed to turn off utilities?

No statute.  Burbz encourages landlords to go through the legal channels for evictions.

 

 

 

Do landlords have to make a reasonable attempt to mitigate damages when re-renting the rental unit?

No statute.

 

 

 

WYOMING LAWS ON RETALIATION

 

Wyoming laws do not state any retaliation laws.

 

 

 

 

LAWS ON DOMESTIC VIOLENCE, SEXUAL MISCONDUCT, AND SEXUAL ASSAULT

Wyoming states a landlord cannot discriminate against victims of domestic or sexual violence.  Landlords are required to change locks if requested.  Victims are allowed to terminate their lease agreements with 7 day notice with proof of imminent threat in the form of medical, court, or police evidence.  The event must have occurred within the last 60 days of providing notice.  (Wyo. Stat. §  1-21-1303)

If you are a victim, please search The Wyoming Coalition Against Domestic Violence and Sexual Assault  site for a helpline:

  • National Domestic Violence Hotline: 1-800-799-7233
  • National Sexual Assault Hotline: 1-800-656-4673

 

 

 

WYOMING LAWS FOR LOCKS AND LANDLORDS

Wyoming does not have any statewide laws regarding locks for landlords.  The tenant cannot remove, replace, or add a lock without the written permission from the landlord.  If the tenant does with permission, they must provide the landlord with a key. 

 

 

 

 

WYOMING PET LAWS & PET POLICIES

Wyoming Landlord-Tenant Laws does not have any specific pet laws.  The lease agreement should state whether pets are allowed and any type of pet deposit that will be charged.

Landlords are legally allowed to create their own pet policies and requirements.  Including tolerance for breeds, size, types, and more. 

Read our guide to pet policies.

 

 

 

 

 

DO LANDLORDS IN WYOMING NEED A RENTAL LICENSE?

 

Wyoming does not require landlords to have a business or rental license.  Local cities may have different requirements, we recommend you research the local city-specific laws.

 

 

 

 

 

NOTICE OF ENTRY LAWS IN WYOMING

Do landlords in Wyoming have to provide notice of entry? 

Wyoming only states that a tenant cannot unreasonably deny access to landlords.  Although no defined duration for ‘reasonable notice’, most states typically require 24 to 48 hours notice.  (Wyo. Stat. § 1-21-1205)

  • Non-emergency maintenance and repairs
  • Improvements to property
  • Inspections
  • Showing prospective tenants, contractors, mortgagees, or buyers.

 

When can a landlord enter without notice:

No statue.

 

 

Can landlords enter for non-emergency maintenance and repairs?

Yes.  Landlords must provide reasonable notice.

 

 

Can landlords enter for showings?

Yes.  Landlords must provide reasonable notice.

 

 

 

Can landlords enter for emergencies without notice?

Yes.

 

 

Can landlords enter during Tenant’s extended absence?

Yes. 

 

 

Can landlords enter for pesticides?

No Statute.

 

 

 

 

 

WYOMING SUBLEASE AND ASSIGNMENT PROVISIONS

Landlords should include a clause in the lease agreement to prevent subleasing.  Otherwise, the tenant may sublet the rental unit.

 

 

 

 

TENANT ABANDONED PROPERTY IN WYOMING

 

Wyoming Landlord Tenant Laws state the landlord may immediately dispose of any trash or property that is reasonably believed to be hazardous, perishable, or valueless and abandoned.  Any valuable property may be removed and can be disposed of after the following:

  • Landlord provides a 7 day written notice describing the property and stating it will be disposed in 7 days.  The notice must include:
    • Date the notice was mailed by certified mail
    • Date the notice is served on the renter in accordance with Rule 4 of the Wyoming Rules of Civil Procedure
    • Date the notice is published in a newspaper in the county or widely circulated in the county
  • If the tenant does not respond in 7 days, the property is considered abandoned and the owner may retain or dispose of the property
  • If the tenant does respond in 7 days, the landlord shall hold onto the property for an additional 7 days after the response is received.  If the tenant fails to pick up within the total 15 day period, the property is deemed abandoned.

Landlords are entitled to the payments of storage costs.  (Wyo. Stat. §  1-21-1310)

 

 

 

 

REQUIRED RENTAL AGREEMENT DISCLOSURES FOR WYOMING LEASES

 

Wyoming Landlord-Tenant Laws requires the following be included with all Rental Agreement Disclosures:

 

Lead Paint Disclosure:  Yes.  Federal law requires every landlord to disclose known information on lead-based paint and hazards.  Landlords must provide this EPA-approved pamphlet.

 

 

 

HELPFUL RESOURCES

Wyoming Stat. Title 1, Chapter 21, Article 10: Forcible Entry and Detainer

Wyoming Stat. Title 1, Chapter 21, Article 12: Residential Rental Property

U.S. Department of Housing & Urban Development–Wyoming

Wyoming Community Development Authority

 

 

 

WYOMING RELATED COURT INFO & LINKS

 

Wyoming Small Claims Court Limits:

$6,000 is the limit for small claims court.  

 

Wyoming Eviction Cases Allowed in Small Claims:

No.  All eviction cases are heard in the circuit court.

Wyoming Judicial Branch

Wyoming Supreme Court

Wyoming District Court Directory

Wyoming Circuit Court Directory

Wyoming Attorney General

Wyoming State Bar

 

 

Join Our Community of Landlords

Burbz is a modern property management for landlords.  Whether you prefer to self-manage or hire a property manager, Burbz platform provides free tools for landlords to succeed.  Landlords can utilize our free property management software.  Or, hire a property manager through the Burbz community and have shared access to all of your rental property data. 

The friendliest property management solution for landlords.

 

LOGO-the-Burbz